Munro with cancer #80

by surfsensei

I don’t need to add anything to this, well done, Andy, good writing too…

It's shite being Scottish

11th October 2016, Ben More (M016), 3852ft, 1174m

Nowhere higher than this anywhere south of here on the British Isles.

Less of an unrelenting slog than I remember from the last time I climbed this mountain – at the end of a winter sometime at the end of the 1980s. Then, the ground was still frozen. There were considerable snowbanks above 3500ft that necessitated crampons. It was a glorious cloudless day with a warming sun that promised spring. Today, clouds were down to about 3000 feet and there was intermittent rain, the summits of surrounding hills were only sometimes barely visible. The ground was mushy, thick with grasses grown strong during a long summer. Then I was with a group on a traverse of both Ben More and Stob Binnein. Today I took the shortest route straight up and back down again from the farm on the A85.

I…

View original post 500 more words

